Gilpin, Barber and Groomer take CMC Features

The U.S. Race Gear Cincinnati Modified Championship presented by Gabbard’s Mt. Orab Ford would see terrible weather blanket the area for the weekend. Yet somehow 3 of the the scheduled 4 races would be completed. Brushcreeks Motorsprorts complex would get hit hardest with the weather and would have to postpone the opener to May 5th.

Moler Raceway Park would just barely get their show in on Friday Night as rain would start to fall during the feature event. Devin Gilpin would take the lead from Jeremie Bretz and battle through the rain for his 4th Moler CMC victory this season in as many tries. Bretz would come home 2nd with current CMC point leader and Coyote race car builder Dustin Webber finishing 3rd. It would be career CMC win number 17 for Gilpin and would tie him at the top of the all-time win list with Matt Hamilton. Gilpin will go for 5 in a row this coming Friday.

On Saturday Night at Florence Speedway Bryan Barber would make his first CMC appearance of the season a winning one. The Bandit Race car builder would dominate the feature in one of his own cars. He would be followed by Larry Pickelheimer Jr and David McWiiliams. Barber, the 2011 AMS Modified Series Champion picked up CMC career win number 4 in what has been very few appearances. It would be the 5th CMC win for Bandit Chassis overall. Florence is back in action with Armed Forces Night on Saturday.

Lawrenceburg Speedway would celebrate their opener on Saturday Night and it would go the way most of last season went. Derek Groomer would grab the lead and looked like he would sail to victory. Sean Johnson would have something to say about that though and would grab the lead on lap 8. Groomer would slide back to the lead on the following lap and never let his guard down again as Johnson would finish 2nd. Devin Gilpin would charge from 14th to finish 3rd. His 4 previous appearances in the CMC this year all resulted in wins. Groomer would become the 4th Indiana driver to claim victory in the CMC this year in the season first event in the Hoosier State. Lawrenceburg is back in action this Saturday as Nascar driver Ken Schrader will be taking on the CMC modified drivers.

Just a reminder

Time is running out to register. Rules and point fund are posted at Support the sponsors who have made a point fund of $5000 plus possible.

See a lot of the CMC action on and
Also get your official CMC shirt at

U.S. Race Gear Cincinnati Modified Championship presented by Gabbard’s Mt. Orab Ford current point standings as of 4-22-12

Letter in parenthesis after name shows that driver is eligible for following bonuses

(R) Gabbard’s Mt. Orab Ford Rookie of the year (B) Top Bandit Race Car Bonus (C) Top Coyote Chassis Bonus (D) Top Diamond Race Car Bonus (L) Top Lightning Chassis Bonus (RP) Top Reaper Chassis Bonus (FS) Top Fast Shocks Driver Bonus. For more info visit

Unregistered drivers can register before May 1st and still receive bonus points for previous races

Best 15 point nights count

After 9 Races

100 drivers have competed, 51 have earned points

Points Races

Dustin Webber 383 8

Larry Pickelheimer Jr 373 7

David McWilliams(C) 337 7

Shawn Tolson(D) 328 7

Matt Hamilton(D) 309 6

Jimmy Lennex Jr. 304 7

Devin Gilpin 302 5

Doug Adkins 253 5

Joey Kramer(L) 250 4

Scotty Kincaid(L) 240 5

Alex Brunner 223 7

Chris Kruetzkamp(FS) 210 5

Derrick Davis(FS) 201 4

Shane Mugavin(FS) 181 4

Pete Holt 159 3

Ryan Morton 141 3

Kelly Craddock 141 3

Jeff Litchfield(D) 129 3

Brandon Gibson(R)(FS) 128 3

Danny Dehner 127 3

Adam Hamilton(L) 103 2

Cory Skipton 90 2

Shawn Brown (R) 87 3

Andrew Corbin 85 2

Daryl Herbert 77 2

Ed Hounshell 73 2

Brandon Ramsey 71 3

Murrell Nafe 70 2

Bryan Barber 65 1

Elliott Despain(B) 55 1

Michael Poe 54 1

Broc Burton(B) 52 1

Ted Nobbe 52 1

Jeff Babcock 50 3

Jason Montgomery 47 1

Rick Hudson 46 1

Jeremie Bretz 45 4

John Rhoades(C) 43 1

David Cook(FS) 42 1

Ray Branscum 35 4

Derek Groomer 30 1

Kris Johnson 25 1

Joe Godsey 25 2

Sean Johnson 25 1

Kyle Schornick 25 4

Tommy Bailey 20 1

Trent Green 15 4

Steve King 15 2

Dave Pinkerton 15 2

Barry Doss 10 2

Eric Shepard 10 1

Win Leaders Presented by Diamond Race Cars

Devin Gilpin 4

Joey Kramer 2

Matt Hamilton 1

Bryan Barber 1

Derek Groomer 1

Chassis Wins presented by Fast Shocks

Impressive 4

Lightning 2

Diamond 1

Bandit 1

Shaw 1

Gabbard’s Mt.Orab Ford Rookie of the year

Brandon Gibson(R)(FS) 128 3

Shawn Brown (R) 87 3

Comments are closed.